XBee900HP: unicast issue, but only in Australia

MaticS
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:31 am

XBee900HP: unicast issue, but only in Australia

Post by MaticS » Tue Apr 09, 2019 3:42 pm

Hi there!

We have a slight problem with Plug&Sense->Meshlium unicast communicaton where the RX_ADDRESS is specified. We are running the identical code in the US and in Australia, on the (presumably) identical equipment (e.g. in both cases we have XBee900HP nodes of same model, and Meshlium).

We find out that in the US, when we set up the RX_ADDRESS:

Code: Select all

char RX_ADDRESS[] = "0013A200XXXXXXXX";
where XXXXXXXX is obviously part of the Meshlium's MAC address,

and later pass it to the xbee900HP.send() method:

Code: Select all

error = xbee900HP.send( RX_ADDRESS, frame.buffer, frame.length );
the Meshlium receives data successfully.
Same happens if we change RX_ADDRESS to Broadcast like in the Libelium example code - it works.
Moreover, if we change RX_ADDRESS to a wrong MAC, it does not work - as expected.
So in the US, the identical code works perfectly well.


However, in Australia, when using the MAC of Australia's Meshlium as RX_ADDRESS, the messages are not received by Meshlium.
On the other hand, if we use Broadcast address as RX_ADDRESS ("000000000000FFFF") in Australia, the messages are received by Meshlium there successfully.

Is there any border-case or specific we should be considerate of?

Thank you, cheers! Matic

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: XBee900HP: unicast issue, but only in Australia

Post by libelium-dev » Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:27 am

Hi Matic,

There are 3 different XBee900HP versions depending on the country, XBee 900HP US, XBee 900HP BR and XBee 900HP AU.

Are you using Australian XBee modules in Australia? Are both, Meshlium and node, XBee 900HP AU radios? Did you configure the same channels in both ways?

Could you please share with us a screenshot of the RF Module section at the manager system?

Regards

MaticS
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:31 am

Re: XBee900HP: unicast issue, but only in Australia

Post by MaticS » Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:51 pm

In our Waspmote code, we do not especially specify/configure the frequency. Should we do that, or probably if it was purchased in Australia, it's Australia version, correct?

On the Meshlium, which frequency should we set up to be compatible with Australia Wasp?
I will post a screenshot as soon as possible, but since I have limited access to Meshlium, it would be good if I can use the time when I access it also for configuring the frequency selection, so if you could share with me that info, that would be perfect.

Thank you, BR Matic

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: XBee900HP: unicast issue, but only in Australia

Post by libelium-dev » Wed Apr 10, 2019 1:49 pm

Hi,

There are three different XBee900HP modules, the hardware is different. You can see the frequencies used for each module here.
http://www.libelium.com/downloads/docum ... pdf#page=5

If Meshlium has a XBee 900HP AU module, you should send data using a node with XBee 900HP AU module. You can check the module version in the sticker at the backside of the P&S or Meshlium.

On the other hand, did you get MAC address of Meshlium from the sticker or from the manager system? Maybe the MAC address of the sticker is wrong and then the node can't communicate with Meshlium when uses that address. Please check that the MAC address show in the Manager system is the same than in the sticker.

Regards

MaticS
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:31 am

Re: XBee900HP: unicast issue, but only in Australia

Post by MaticS » Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:28 pm

Hi,

here is the screenshot of Meshlium after loading module info:
Image

One interesting thing to notice is that after clicking "Check status" we get:

Code: Select all

Connecting to serial port ...
Unable to read parameters.

ERROR: Error connecting to Module
Cheers

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: XBee900HP: unicast issue, but only in Australia

Post by libelium-dev » Thu Apr 11, 2019 2:31 pm

Hi,

It is needed to turn OFF the sensor parser before load the configuration from the module. Please try it and let us know if the configuration is read.

Regards

MaticS
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:31 am

Re: XBee900HP: unicast issue, but only in Australia

Post by MaticS » Tue Jun 18, 2019 9:08 am

Hi there, sorry about the delay with answering. We managed to read the configuration and the MAC address is OK. The rest of the configuration can be seen here:

Image

We still need to use broadcast as a MAC for the Meshlium to catch the frames. If we use Meshlium's MAC, the frames do not show up in Meshlium.

MaticS
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:31 am

Re: XBee900HP: unicast issue, but only in Australia

Post by MaticS » Tue Jun 18, 2019 9:11 am

Also, the Waspmotes (Plug&Sense-s) were purchased in Australia, so they should be Australia version.

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: XBee900HP: unicast issue, but only in Australia

Post by libelium-dev » Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:01 am

Hi,

What is the serial id of Meshlium and the nodes? So we will check the XBee900LP version of each one.

On the other hand, the Australian module must use frequencies from 915.6 to 928 MHz, from channel 33 to 63. Please try to enable only those frequencies in Meshlium and nodes and let us know if Meshlium receives data.

Regards

MaticS
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:31 am

Re: XBee900HP: unicast issue, but only in Australia

Post by MaticS » Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:58 pm

Hi Libelium, we have obtained the serial IDs. May I send them to you via e-mail or private message?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest