LoRaWAN RN2903 - Brazil

Wireless communications in Waspmote, topologies, node types...
Post Reply
bruno_faria
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:26 pm
Company: Ektrum

LoRaWAN RN2903 - Brazil

Post by bruno_faria » Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:46 pm

Hi,

Recently the Brazilian regulation agency approved the 915-928 spectrum dor LoRa (same as Australia). We're on the route of implementing the first LoRa network in central-Brasil. We have a waspmote v1.2 here, and decided to go with Libelium for implementation of LoRa.
So we bought the LoRaWAN RN2903 based on the RN2903 datasheet and this post viewtopic.php?f=29&t=22062&p=63802&hili ... ian#p63802 stating that the 915-928 band is supported.
However, when I tried to run the ABP from the examples I realised that the AU915 band is not configurable. Searching the Internet for a solution it seems that the RN2903 firmware must be updated.
The conclusion is that we thought the LoRaWAN module would work out-of-the-box, but it won't. So, is there a way to remedy this? Is it possible to upgrade the LoRaWAN module?

I appreciate your help.

- Bruno

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: LoRaWAN RN2903 - Brazil

Post by libelium-dev » Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:55 am

Hi,

We are sorry but it isn't possible to configure the LoRaWAN US module to work in 915-928 spectrum. When we release the module, the manufacturer information said that the module can worked in Australian bands but later they retired that information as you can see in the current documentation.
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/D ... 02390E.pdf

Sorry for the inconveniences.
Regards

bruno_faria
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:26 pm
Company: Ektrum

Re: LoRaWAN RN2903 - Brazil

Post by bruno_faria » Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:20 pm

Hi,

Thank you for the quick reply.
That's indeed an inconvenience. We bought a product based on misleading information and now we can't use them. Unfortunately we can't just put the LoRa kits on the shelf and start over with a new hardware, there are deadlines that we must attend. We opted for waspmote as our IoT platform as a reliable product and we are just asking for customer support. I'm sure that there's must be a way for fixing this.
It seems that Micrichip is rolling out a new firmware for RN2903 with 915-928 band support. Can you point out how to upgrade the Rn2903 FW? (maybe using the waspmote GW as a UART-USB interface?)

Best,

- Bruno

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: LoRaWAN RN2903 - Brazil

Post by libelium-dev » Wed Mar 07, 2018 6:09 pm

Hi Bruno,

Our engineers are testing the new firmware released by microchip but this may take a few months. We don't know if we will release this new product, it depends on the tests. On the other hand, the firmware only can be update in our facilities, it isn't possible tu update firmware using a waspmote gateway.

Regards

bruno_faria
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:26 pm
Company: Ektrum

Re: LoRaWAN RN2903 - Brazil

Post by bruno_faria » Wed May 09, 2018 2:18 pm

Hi,
As mentioned here http://www.libelium.com/downloads/docum ... -guide.pdf and here https://www.cooking-hacks.com/lorawan-m ... bee-socket, libelium now have a LoRaWAN hw for AU band. Now it seems that you can help us solving this issue. How can we proceede? Rgds

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: LoRaWAN RN2903 - Brazil

Post by libelium-dev » Thu May 10, 2018 9:31 am

Hi,

We haven't tried the module in Brazil, so we don't know if the RN2903 module will work there. You should update the firmware to AU in order to its functionality in Brazil. Contact with Microchip to know ho update the firmware.

Regards

bruno_faria
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:26 pm
Company: Ektrum

Re: LoRaWAN RN2903 - Brazil

Post by bruno_faria » Thu May 10, 2018 2:58 pm

Hi,
Well, I thought that upgrading the FW wasn't an option according to this:
We are sorry but it isn't possible to configure the LoRaWAN US module to work in 915-928 spectrum. When we release the module, the manufacturer information said that the module can worked in Australian bands but later they retired that information as you can see in the current documentation.
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/D ... 02390E.pdf

Sorry for the inconveniences.
If you have any documentation to point out how to upgrade the FW, we can try.

The point is, we acquired a module that was documented to work in the 915MHz frequency band but it doesn't. Now it's laying in our desk and we can't proceed with our project.
What I kindly ask is for a solution. We bought the module from Libelium, not from microchip. If the information on the website about the working frequency was wrong, that's not our concern.

Here's one possible solution:
We can send those modules we have back to Libelium, and Libelium sends us the modules for AU frequency band.

BR

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: LoRaWAN RN2903 - Brazil

Post by libelium-dev » Fri May 11, 2018 11:20 am

Hi,

The LoRaWAN module for AU is the same as LoRaWAN module for US but with different firmware.

You can contact Microchip to get the AU firmware and update the module with the AU firmware by yourself in order to save you time and cost. Or you can open a RMA process with us and we update the firmware of your module.
https://www.libelium.com/contact/#RMA

Regards

bruno_faria
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:26 pm
Company: Ektrum

Re: LoRaWAN RN2903 - Brazil

Post by bruno_faria » Fri May 11, 2018 3:17 pm

Hi,

But in a previous post you said that upgrading the FW by ourselves is not possible.
libelium-dev wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 6:09 pm
Hi Bruno,

Our engineers are testing the new firmware released by microchip but this may take a few months. We don't know if we will release this new product, it depends on the tests. On the other hand, the firmware only can be update in our facilities, it isn't possible tu update firmware using a waspmote gateway.

Regards
f there's any other option for upgrading this, please point us the way.

Regards

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: LoRaWAN RN2903 - Brazil

Post by libelium-dev » Mon May 14, 2018 9:57 am

Hi,

We said that it isn't possible upload the firmware using a Waspmote gateway. A Pickit from microchip is needed to upload the firmware.

Regards

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest