ZigBee module BAUDRATE

Using OTA functions with Waspmote
Post Reply
andyziga
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 7:47 pm

ZigBee module BAUDRATE

Post by andyziga » Fri Dec 18, 2015 3:28 pm

Hi all,
can you tell me what is the right baud rate to be set in ZigBee coordinator (USB gateway) and waspmote with zigbee module?

I ask this because with cutecom I can see the frames, but using sniffer.c I can see random character using the same baudrate. Thank you

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: ZigBee module BAUDRATE

Post by libelium-dev » Mon Dec 21, 2015 9:53 am

Hi,

the baudrate must be the same in both XBees, by default waspmote use a baudrate of 115200. You can try to replace the firmware of your Zigbee coordinator by Coordinator AT with XCTU. Be careful, because if the module is damaged when you will change the firmware void the warranty.

Regards

andyziga
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 7:47 pm

Re: ZigBee module BAUDRATE

Post by andyziga » Thu Dec 24, 2015 11:43 am

Hi,

Currently I have the ZigBee Coordinator at 38400, while ZigBee waspmote at 115200. Then I must set Coordinator BAUDRATE at 115200 by XCTU?

Regards

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: ZigBee module BAUDRATE

Post by libelium-dev » Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:24 am

Hi,

Yes, both XBees must have the same baudrate.

Regards

andyziga
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 7:47 pm

Re: ZigBee module BAUDRATE

Post by andyziga » Fri Jan 08, 2016 10:34 am

Hi,

if I set coordinator BAUDRATE at 115200, the otap function "scan_nodes" don't work, while if I set coordinator BAUDRATE at 38400 it works, although the baudrates aren't the same. Why? What is the problem?

thanks

andyziga
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 7:47 pm

Re: ZigBee module BAUDRATE

Post by andyziga » Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:04 pm

hi, again :)

I run all process on vmware virtual machine. Is this the problem? Can the virtual machine virtualize in wrong mode the serial communications?

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: ZigBee module BAUDRATE

Post by libelium-dev » Mon Jan 11, 2016 10:52 am

andyziga,

we have to apologize because this sentence is wrong:
Yes, both XBees must have the same baudrate.
The UART communication between the XBee module and its host controller is independent from the RF communication, and it can be different on the sender and on the receiver.

in this way, you can have a Waspmote + Xbee using a 115200 UART communication (115200 by default) and you can use a Waspmote gateway + Xbee with the UART connection and your preferred baudrate.

Maybe the virtual machine is not managing correctly the serial connection? Could you describe your setup in detail?

saifasad
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 11:52 am

Re: ZigBee module BAUDRATE

Post by saifasad » Sat Jul 30, 2016 12:57 am

Hello Libellium-Dev

since the XBee baudrate doesn't matter in OTA why does the OTA documentation on (page 42: waspmote gateway setup) says that "The xbee board placed on this GW must be configured at 38400 and API mode 1 ??


Also can you please clarify what does API mode mean anyway ?


Many thanks in advance.

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: ZigBee module BAUDRATE

Post by libelium-dev » Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:04 am

Hi,

The OTA documentation is correct, our GW + xbee must be configured at 38400 baud and AP=1 to be used in OTA.

About API mode, the AP command is used to enable the RF module to operate using a frame-based API instead of using the default Transparent (UART) mode.
-AP=0 API disabled (Transparent operation)
-AP=1 API enabled
-AP=2 API enabled (with escaped characters)

Regards.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest