How to use the waspmote board as the slave device

Post Reply
dp_service
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2019 6:15 am
Company: Delta-Phase

How to use the waspmote board as the slave device

Post by dp_service » Tue Oct 22, 2019 10:20 am

Hello sir,

Our company bought some parts for measurement of lithium ion,they include a sensor board ,a waspmote board and two lithium ion electrodes. we are testing them, we connect the waspmote board with PC via RS485 port and get data by the software MODPOLL , but now there are always error messages "Timeout error" on screen when getting data, it looks like no connection . the followings are communnication setting which I have configured for MODPOLL software : Modbus adress :1 ,baud rate :9600 ;data bit :8 ;stop bit:1 ;parity:None , I also tried to change the baud rate to 19200 and the modbus address to 2 for test , but the trouble is still so . now I have some questions below
(1) What is the modbus communication mode of the waspmote board ? master or slave device ? we need it work as the slave mode .

(2) Can we get measured data directly from the waspmote board via RS 485 port after we assembled them well and power on it ? or we must firstly develop program for the waspmote board to read measured data from the sensor board , after then use it .

looking for forward to reply

Thank you,

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: How to use the waspmote board as the slave device

Post by libelium-dev » Wed Oct 23, 2019 8:28 am

Hi,

The module can work as slave or master. It can be configured. You can find an example code about how to configure the module as a slave in the following link
http://www.libelium.com/development/was ... lave-mode/

It is needed to save the values in register to be able to read them through a Modbus software. Or you could send the data through rs-485 bus without using modbus protocol using the next example code
http://www.libelium.com/development/was ... send-data/

Regards

dp_service
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2019 6:15 am
Company: Delta-Phase

Re: How to use the waspmote board as the slave device

Post by dp_service » Wed Oct 23, 2019 9:59 am

Hi,

Thank you for your replay , I saw the two pieces of example code show on your link ,they should be C or C ++ program ,one is for Modbus protocol and other one is for your standard ,right ? as I understand it,I need to download one of them into my waspmote board or I need to firstly compile them to binary file,then download it into my waspmote board , do you think my understanding is right ? if I must download it ,what kind of software can be used? I am not software engineer and it is first time to use yourproducts ,have no any experience ,so have to learn more the using details.

Thank you,

Best regards

libelium-dev
Posts: 27967
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: How to use the waspmote board as the slave device

Post by libelium-dev » Thu Oct 24, 2019 11:27 am

Hi,

You have to use Waspmote IDE to upload the programs to the node. You can download it in the following link
http://www.libelium.com/development/was ... lications/

The following guide explains the Wapsmote IDE features and how to use it.
www.libelium.com/downloads/documentatio ... _guide.pdf

Anyway, if you don't have programming skills you should consider to use the Programming Cloud Service, in which you can develop your code with a few "clicks". You can find a demo and the technical documentation in the following link
https://cloud.libelium.com/demo_public?op=pcs
http://www.libelium.com/downloads/docum ... _guide.pdf

Regards

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest