Page 1 of 1

NO2 probe doesn't work with the new Meshlium gateway. It works with the older version

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:56 am
by claudiospirito
Actually we're not able to read data from the NO2 sensor bought recently.

We already have in our lab older versions of both the sensor and the Meshlium gateway.

Normally the sensor is connected to the Waspmote Smart City Pro. When the architecture is composed by the latest Meshlium and the newer sensor the only data received is 0.

The sensor works correctly when it works with the older version of Meshlium ; moreover the older NO2 sensor owned works correctly with the new version of the Meshlium.

Let’s summarize the scenario by the following scheme:

Sensor Old Meshlium New Meshlium
NO2 New OK, data received NOT OK, only 0 is received
NO2 Old OK, data received OK, data received

We’re not able to provide you the serial numbers of the sensors but only of the gateways.

In my opinion the new sensor is not complaint to the latest Meshlium, that’s why it doesn’t work. Do you have already past cases where this problem has occurred ?

Re: NO2 probe doesn't work with the new Meshlium gateway. It works with the older version

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:28 pm
by claudiospirito
I'd like also to add some details.
The gateways are updated to the latest version.

I also would like to describe better the scenario because I realized that the format of the scheme posted previously is not readable:

The old NO2 sensor works with both the old and the new Meshlium

The new NO2 sensor doesn't work with the latest Meshlium, but it works with the old gateway.

Re: NO2 probe doesn't work with the new Meshlium gateway. It works with the older version

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:53 am
by libelium-dev
Hi,

In order to debug the issue please we need some logs of the tests to know what is going on.

Zero values for the NO2 sensor is normal due to the low concentration in the environment. Please check the sensor using the example code and share with us the output enabling the debug mode. You can enable the debug mode modifying line 77 of WaspSensorGas_Pro.h file of the libraries.

Also, try to share with us the serials of the Meshliums and the nodes you're using.

Regards.

Re: NO2 probe doesn't work with the new Meshlium gateway. It works with the older version

Posted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:33 pm
by claudiospirito
Hi,

we have two sensors and two Meshlium. So we can mix Meshlium and sensors in order to evaluate if the data received is coherent as expected. Only a single configuration of sensor and Meshlium gave only null data.

The issue has been fixed after the latest firmware upgrade of the newer Meshlium.

Anyway a new problem appears after the firmware upgrade. We have two Waspmote. We plug 6 sensors to the single Waspmote (Temperature, Humidity, Pressure, Carbon Monoxide, Ozone, Nitrogen Dioxide).

We realized that suddendly the data registered from all sensors is -1000. -1000 is the only data sampled until the Meshlium is restarted.

I have 5 different logs captured in different times with different configurations (using both the new and the old NO2 sensor).

There's not any occurency about the time of start of the problem, it seems random. From the guide I read that there would be a "communication problem".

It follows the map of the connection of the sensors on the Waspmote:
NOISE LEVEL - SOCKET A
O3 - SOCKET B
CO - SOCKET C
DUST - SOCKET D
TEMPERATURE, HUMIDITY AND PRESSURE - SOCKET E
NO2 - SOCKET F

I'd like also to post the code but I'd prefere to give it in a private discussion since it's from my client. I have also the log to attach.

I'm looking forward to your response.

Thank you, Claudio

Re: NO2 probe doesn't work with the new Meshlium gateway. It works with the older version

Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 8:55 am
by libelium-dev
Hi,

The sensors return -1000 value when there is an issue in the I2C bus, usually it is a software issue due to the I2C bus isn't managed properly. Does your code follow the structure of this code? Is the code uploaded using the last API v042?
http://www.libelium.com/development/was ... s-utility/

You can send the code to your sales agent or you can fill the RMA form and we will ask for the code
https://www.libelium.com/contact/#rma

Regards