Are circuit board schematics available?

Questions about the Waspmote board and its modules
liudr

Are circuit board schematics available?

Post by liudr » Sat Aug 08, 2015 2:16 am

I am a developer and currently have a project that involves the waspmote and smart water board. I need the schematics of the waspmote and smart water board, or at least the latter, in order to understand the system for interfacing purposes. Are any PCB schematics open source, or free to view at all? A PDF version would be ok although best would be EAGLE. I've designed a number of data loggers myself, circuit board and firmware, based on arduino so having schematics to devices I am supposed to interface was a pre-assumption. Am I asking for too much? Thank you!

libelium-dev

Re: Are circuit board schematics available?

Post by libelium-dev » Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:15 am

Hi,

We are afraid that we can not provide any schematic, they are not available for public usage. Waspmote is open source in terms of software, but it is proprietary in terms of hardware.

Regards

liudr

Post by liudr » Mon Aug 10, 2015 5:38 pm

I understand. So essentially you want to design and build all the hardware, and only want users to customize software. Then the system is pretty limited in terms of new sensors. Say I want 4 temperature probes on smart water board for some reason, I can't. Because there is only one channel with a 1K ohm resistor and opamp after the voltage divider. If I wanted something really simple instead of a smart water board, maybe a couple of sensors, I will have to design a pcb like smart water so I can make connections to waspmote and the sensors. Having a guide for this will help me.

If you at least publish something about the smart water board (say if anyone do this, they void warranty), or how to make a custom board, you can let people connect it to arduino as I just finished doing, or add new sensors to waspmote. Is there some guide available?

libelium-dev